Jean Marie Ward

fiction, nonfiction and all points in between

Win a Wishstone to Celebrate “Vanyr’s” Print Date & Poll Standing

Tuesday, February 20th, 2007 | Author: jmward14 | Blog | Comments Off

This has been a heck of a day–in the best possible way.  

- The print edition of With Nine You Get Vanyr went on sale.
- Preditors & Editors posted the results of their
2006 SF/fantasy Poll–and VANYR made #2.  (Thank you!  Thank you! to everyone who voted.)
- My bookmarks arrived (and they’re gorgeous!)
- My local Walden’s asked when I’d like a signing.

Whew!  qnotku would’ve been so proud.  To celebrate, I’m…

…opening WardSmith.com’s first contest of 2007 here on LJ before it’s even posted on the site.  

The novel’s tagline is “How much would you give to live your fantasy?  Think fast–your Wishstone is waiting.”  For the contest we’re asking something a little different: How much would you give for a Wishstone*?

For a limited time (until April 14, to be exact) you don’t have to give anything. To celebrate our print release, hundakleptisis and I are giving you the opportunity to win a Wishstone or a set of three Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab perfume imps.  Or both.  

The grand prize of is a crystal egg suitable for storing wishes or containing demons, and three BPAL imps.  Two other lucky winners will receive three BPAL imp ears, sans egg.  The fragrances–guaranteed to evoke your inner goddess or the goddess of a woman near you–are keyed to the cyber-names of the Daughters of Reyah’s three top magic users:

* Bastet (for Thea, who changes into cats)
* Psyche (for Liz, the group’s mind mage)
* Kurukulla (a blend of lotus blooms and roses suitable for Anna’s cyber-identity of Circe)

Entering is simple.  All you have to do is send us the answer to the following question via our Contact Page:

In Chapter 15 of With Nine You Get Vanyr, readers discover the nine Earth women transmogrified by the Wishstone aren’t the only souvenirs Reyah brought back from our little blue planet.  She’s also Chosen a knight from among the players of an online computer game.  What is that knight’s name in Domain?

The winning entries will be drawn at random from emails with the correct answer received before midnight EST, April 14.  We’ll announce the winners on April 15 to give folks a reason to look forward to tax day for a change.

You don’t need to buy the book to win.  The answer can be found somewhere on the web site.  Plus, everyone who provides a snail mail address will receive two free bookmarks, one featuring Anne Cain’s luscious cover art and the other featuring one a warm and fuzzy cartoon from Hail Dubyus–one of the few. 

Yes, we will mail overseas.  Across the galaxy?  Well, I’ll need to talk to Madame Reyah about that…

* The management makes no supernatural claims for the Wishstone offered in this contest.  All we say is, sometimes, wishing makes it so.

Posted 10 years, 9 months ago at 9:25 pm.

Add a comment

Freebie Jeebies!

Monday, February 19th, 2007 | Author: jmward14 | Blog | Comments Off

Free while supplies last–not one, but two amazing bookmarks!  
The first features Anne Cain’s luscious cover art for With Nine You Get Vanyr.  The second–distributed by the Scott County, MN, Office of Environmental Health–sports an uber cute global warming cartoon drawn by my very own dh, the dangerous mind behind Hail Dubyus, the most dangerous political cartoons on the Internet.  
And did I mention they’re free?  All you need to do is send me your snail mail address via the WardSmith.com Contact Page.  Yes, I will mail out of country.  Not only that, both bookmarks are user-friendly across the entire political spectrum–which is more than you can say for Greg and me.  LOL
In other news, tomorrow With Nine You Get Vanyr will be released in print.  On Fat Tuesday, no less.  Can’t get much more appropriate than that.  *g*  In honor of the occasion, I’ll be launching a contest with questions and real prizes and everything.  Meanwhile, you can consider the bookmarks my version of a Mardi Gras parade favor.  (IOW, I couldn’t figure out how to get the beads to lie flat in the envelopes.)
Cheers and revels to all!

Posted 10 years, 9 months ago at 8:02 pm.

Add a comment

Thank you for voting!

Thursday, January 18th, 2007 | Author: jmward14 | Blog | Comments Off

The results aren’t final, but they’re still sweet.  With Nine You Get Vanyr made it to #2 in the 2006 Preditors & Editors Readers Poll.  WooHoo!  Somewhere out there qnotku is grinning her face off.  Thank you!

Posted 10 years, 10 months ago at 11:42 pm.

Add a comment

Somebody out there likes the book

Tuesday, January 9th, 2007 | Author: jmward14 | Blog | Comments Off

Enough to nominate With Nine You Get Vanyr for the 2006 Preditors and Editors Readers Poll.  If you’ve read the book and like it enough, please, vote for it.  I’ll make it easy with a link to the polling site:-)   But even if you choose not to vote for our book, please, vote for a deserving title in any of the categories.  This is truly an awards program where everybody wins.
Of course, I’m hoping Samhain and my fellow Samhellions do really well.  (Ann Vremont’s Reluctant Muse is listed among the Romance titles too.)  But it’s all good.  
Except for the difficulty in identifying just one title to vote for.  Fortunately for my inner reader (if not for the polling process) this year I could happily nominate and vote for three or four titles in every category.  I’m such a magpie!  LOL

Posted 10 years, 10 months ago at 8:35 pm.

Add a comment

Blurb Heaven

Monday, October 16th, 2006 | Author: jmward14 | Blog | Comments Off

WooHoo!  With Nine You Get Vanyr scored another stellar blurb, this time from Lilith Saintcrow:

A long rollicking ride through fandom and fantasy.

It don’t get better than that.  *big, big grin*  Thanks, Lili!

Posted 11 years, 1 month ago at 11:19 pm.

Add a comment

Cover Gush

Sunday, October 15th, 2006 | Author: jmward14 | Blog | Comments Off

Finally, it can be revealed–annecain’s gorgeous cover for With Nine You Get Vanyr.  Teri and I were blown away the minute she started showing us the preliminary versions, and it’s been so hard keeping quiet about it until Samhain officially released the image.  Of course, now I’m bouncing up and down on the computer chair at 2:30 a.m. EDT, and the cat’s looking at me as if I’m deranged.  But it’s all in a day’s–er, night’s work, right?
Now to figure out how to make it into an icon…
In other good news, our editor sent us her edits today, and Teri and I sent the edited copy back tonight.  :D   We expect to hear the sound of her fainting all the way from Minnesota.  Hey, the edits were straightforward; what’s not to love?  Of course, now I’m worried the pages will run red from the final line edit.  Can’t please a Virgo, can you?  LOL

Posted 11 years, 1 month ago at 2:24 am.

Add a comment

The blurbs just get better and better

Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006 | Author: jmward14 | Blog | Comments Off

I am so pumped!  Patty Briggs has this to say about With Nine You Get Vanyr:

I had such fun with this story.  With Nine You Get Vanyr is an original romp sure to appeal to fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and Lynn Kurland.

First Carole www.carolenelsondouglas.com, now Patty www.hurog.com–two of my very favorite writers–like the novel Teri and I wrote.  How cool is that?  Thank you, ladies!
Not only that, but it appears the very talented Anne Cain will be doing our cover.  Anne was the cover artist for Ann Vremont’s The Reluctant Muse <http://samhainpublishing.com/reluctantmuse.shtml>, K.A. Shuster’s Acts of the Saints <http://samhainpublishing.com/actsofthesaints.shtml> and Ciar Cullen’s Lords of Ch’I <http://samhainpublishing.com/lordsofchi.shtml>.  She also writes.  (Blood Brothers <http:samhainpublishing.com/bloodbrothers.shtml>, the novel she wrote with Barbara Sheridan, is also available from Samhain.)  Can’t wait to see what she comes up with for us!
Cheers and happy dances,

Posted 11 years, 1 month ago at 12:12 am.

Add a comment

WooHoo! First Blurb

Monday, September 18th, 2006 | Author: jmward14 | Blog | Comments Off

And it’s a beaut.  This is what Carole Nelson Douglas www.carolenelsondouglas.com had to say about With Nine You Get Vanyr:

Action! Magic! Love, war, and mirth! The reader’s cup of epic fantasy fun overflows in With Nine You Get Vanyr, a rousing tale of nine female fans transported to a fave TV show’s fantasy world to save it from destruction. Beware what you wish for, though, especially if it’s power, a more exciting life, beauty…and the Beast in the multiple forms of demons and lovers. Or maybe just demon lovers. A rousing and suspenseful battle of magical powers ends with tantalizing hints at more of everything wonderful to come. Action! Magic! War and lust! Very, very bad hair days!

Makes me want to read the book again–and Teri and I have read and revised this puppy so many times it’s not funny.  The blurb is doubly flattering, because Carole herself wrote some killer science fiction and fantasy before she turned to mystery and began chronicling the adventures of Irene Adler and Midnight Louie.  

Posted 11 years, 2 months ago at 8:50 pm.

Add a comment

Cool Beans

Friday, July 21st, 2006 | Author: jmward14 | Blog | Comments Off

Well, something has to be cool in this heat wave.
First, I mailed out the imps to the wonderful readers who won the With Nine You Get Vanyr part of the Samhain Readers Appreciation Contest.  Ladies, I’ll write more off-list, but hopefully, you’ll get your packages within the next two weeks.  (Yep, Mahaira, that’s what our post office said.  Whether I believe the nice, optimistic clerk is another matter.)
Second,

Type your cut contents here. unless I heard him wrong, my local printer said he could print 10 bound galleys for me for a really NICE price.  Planning to double check Kinkos, Staples and Office Depot to see what they offer, but my heart is always with the local small business person.
Finally, and this has given me an attack of giggles that may last into next week, my late mother-in-law’s “rhinestone” engagement ring — a point of contention between the in-laws for all the time I knew them — turns out to be a sweet little white sapphire set in 14 kt gold.  It’s not a bonanza or anything.  No gotchas on dh’s brother or sister-in-law.  The stone is small, so the ring still has more sentimental than monetary value. But since it’s 14 kt, I can wear it and think good thoughts about them.  
The real TMI hoot: after his wife died, my late FiL had it dangling from a ball chain on his nail clipper.  And my dh left it there!  Oy!  Sometimes, dh is too Grissom for words.  *snicker*
You know, when I set out for the jeweler’s last night, I would’ve been happy to find out the stone was zircon or Austrian crystal in a gold-filled band. And to make it even nicer — sapphire is my birthstone.
Cheers,

Posted 11 years, 4 months ago at 10:10 am.

Add a comment